April 7, 2025

The Newaygo Public Schools Board of Education held a special meeting on April 7, 2025 in the Newaygo High School Library. Vince Grodus, Board President, called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Vince Grodus, Reid Sherwood, Jami Schultz, Bruce Gracik, Mary Spicer and Thomas Frisbie

MEMBERS ABSENT: Sara Smith

Also Present: Ben Gilpin, Superintendent Christina Wetherell, Administrative Assistant Gena Dietz, High School Principal John Bull, High School Assistant Principal

Visitors: 2

Approval of Agenda

Motion by Mr. Frisbie, seconded by Ms. Spicer, to approve the proposed agenda for the special meeting of April 7, 2025.

VOTE Ayes: 6 Nays: 0 Motion: Carried

Public Comments None.

Closed Session

Motion by Mr. Sherwood, seconded by Mr. Gracik, to move into closed session for the purpose of a student discipline hearing. ROLL CALL VOTE Mr. Grodus, Aye; Mr. Gracik, Aye; Ms. Spicer, Aye; Mrs. Schultz, Aye; Mr. Sherwood, Aye; Mr. Frisbie, Aye Ayes: 6 Nays: 0 Motion: Carried Time: 6:01pm

Motion by Mr. Frisbie, seconded by Mr. Sherwood, to move back into open session. ROLL CALL VOTE Mr. Grodus, Aye; Mr. Gracik, Aye; Ms. Spicer, Aye; Mrs. Schultz, Aye; Mr. Sherwood, Aye; Mr. Frisbie, Aye Ayes: 6 Nays: 0 Motion: Carried Time: 6:56pm

Board Decision

Motion by Mr. Sherwood, seconded by Mr. Frisbie, to long term suspend Student 050A from Newaygo Public Schools for the remainder of the 2024-2025 school year with the following conditions:

-Student must participate in Graduation Alliance and complete the current school year by August 1st.

-Student must not have any further legal trouble and must have a reinstatement hearing to attend the 25-26 school year.

The Board strongly encouraged the student to receive counseling.

ROLL CALL VOTE Mr. Grodus, Aye; Mr. Gracik, Aye; Ms. Spicer, Aye; Mrs. Schultz, Aye; Mr. Sherwood, Aye; Mr. Frisbie, Aye Ayes: 6 Nays: 0 Motion: Carried

Adjournment

Motion by Ms. Schultz, seconded by Ms. Spicer, to adjourn the meeting. VOTE Ayes: 6 Nays: 0 Motion: Carried Time: 7:01pm

Jami Schultz, Board Secretary